The Canadiens are vying for their first Clarence S. Campbell Bowl

The Montreal Canadiens have a chance to do something else the Maple Leafs haven’t been able to do — win the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl.

The NHL announced the winner of the Vegas-Montreal series will be presented with the Campbell Bowl, while the winner of the other semifinal — either Tampa Bay or the New York Islanders — will take the Prince of Wales Trophy.

The Islanders-Lightning series will begin Sunday in Tampa. The Canadiens-Golden Knights series starts the next night in Las Vegas, with the two series alternating evenings. The Knights were the last team to advance to the final four, eliminating Colorado on Thursday night.

The two trophies have been geographically based since the first expansion in 1967, when they were given to divisional regular-season champions. The switch to conference playoff champions came in 1974-75.

The Leafs never won the Campbell in their 17 years in the Western or Campbell Conference. They reached the conference final twice, losing in 1993 to Los Angeles and in 1994 to Vancouver.

The Canadiens have never competed for the Campbell but, with Vegas being the only Western team among the final four, it makes sense that’s the trophy the Golden Knights would compete for.

The Canadiens last won the Prince of Wales in 1992-93.


Conversations are opinions of our readers and are subject to the Code of Conduct. The Star does not endorse these opinions.

File source

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button